Extreme Honor by Piper J Drake Blog Tour (Excerpt, Giveaway, Review, Buy Links)

EXTREME HONOR by Piper J. Drake

Hot military heroes, the women who love them, and the devoted dogs that always have their backs.  EXTREME HONOR is the first book in a high adrenaline contemporary suspense series from Piper J. Drake published by Forever Romance. Fans of Jill Shalvis’s Animal Attraction series and Cindy Gerard’s One Eyed Jacks, will love this brand new action packed romantic suspense series.

HiddenImpact_banner_releaseevent for FB

Extreme Honor

True Heroes #1

Author: Piper J Drake
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Imprint: Forever
Genre: Romance | Romantic Suspense | Military Romance
Pages: 384
Characters: David Cruz & Evelyn Jones
Release Date: January 26th 2016
Find it at: Goodreads | Goodreads Series Page
Buy it at:  Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

ExtremeHonor5_RGB300

Summary

HONOR, LOYALTY, LOVE

David Cruz is good at two things: war and training dogs. The ex-soldier’s toughest case is Atlas, a Belgian Malinois whose handler died in combat. Nobody at Hope’s Crossing kennel can break through the animal’s grief. That is, until dog whisperer Evelyn Jones walks into the facility . . . and into Atlas’s heart. David hates to admit that the curvy blonde’s mesmerizing effect isn’t limited to canines. But when Lyn’s work with Atlas puts her in danger, David will do anything to protect her.

Lyn realizes that David’s own battle scars make him uniquely qualified for his job as a trainer. Tough as nails yet gentle when it counts, he’s gotten closer to Atlas than anyone else—and he’s willing to put his hard-wired suspicion aside to let her do the same. But someone desperate enough to kill doesn’t want Lyn working with Atlas. Now only teamwork, trust, and courage can save two troubled hearts and the dog who loves them both . . .

5

6.png

Excerpt

From Extreme Honor by Piper J. Drake:

Her heart rate had picked up, fluttering at the pulse point under his touch.

“Yeah?” The urge to slide has hands over more delicate areas grew and he couldn’t help running his thumb along the inside of her arm.

Awareness grew in her gaze and she bit her lip as she nodded.

He leaned toward her, focused on her plump lip caught under her teeth.

“What else do you like?”

She opened her mouth to answer but he didn’t plan to let her get a word out. Maybe later. He bent his head to capture her lips.

And seventy five pounds of fur jumped up on his side.

“The hell?”

Lyn gasped. “Atlas!”

Af.” Mindful of the dog’s injury, Cruz gave Atlas a gentle shove.

The dog dropped back to all fours, his tongue lolling. Looking from him to Lyn and back again, Atlas lay back down on his belly.

Jealous. Damn dog was jealous.

Be real. Every dog recognizes a fake. And good men can see through it too.

“I’d really like to help.” Honest. Simple. All the other reasons paled in comparison to this.

“Whatever is going on, you know more about it than I do.” She licked her lips, her mouth gone dry.

His gaze dipped, focusing on her mouth. “I might. I know something. I’m not sure it’s related. But this next question is important.”

Can I kiss you?

Doubtful that was the question he was going to ask. But the moment was drawing out and she very much wanted for him to ask it. “Okay.”

“Do you think I would hurt you?”

“No!” It popped out before she had time to think about it. Anger burned up from her chest and spread outward. She scowled. “Of course n—”

He kissed her.

9.png

My Thoughts

*ARC provided by Publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review*

Extreme Honor by Piper J Drake is a remarkably compelling contemporary romantic suspense novel about an ex-soldier turned dog trainer who is determined to break through a well-known military service dog’s grief and a talented dog whisperer hired to help him. A dog whisperer that someone is willing to kill to keep from succeeding at her new job.

I really enjoyed this book. It’s fast-paced, well-written, and has the perfect blend of romance and suspense. It’s got great characterization and a really interesting and intriguing storyline in regards to Atlas, his grief recovery, and the circumstances surrounding the death of his past handler.

The main characters of Extreme Honor, David and Lyn, got off to a rocky start with defensive attitudes and preconceived notions, but in their desire to help and protect Atlas, they found some common ground. In fact, both of them intrigued me from pretty early on in the book and that same intrigue carried on straight to the end. I liked them, and I thoroughly enjoyed their story in this book.

If you’re looking for a great romantic suspense read, Extreme Honor is a hot, fun, action-packed romance read capable of sweeping you up and carrying you away. I highly recommend giving it a shot.

 

Rating: 5 Stars

Giveaway

Up for Grabs: Signed copy of Extreme Honor

(3 Winners)

Enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway Here

And Coming Soon…

Book_2_UltimateCourage.jpg

Book two in the True Heroes series

Ultimate Courage

Available July 26, 2016

Elisa Hall is good at starting from scratch. Leaving an abusive relationship in her rearview, she packs everything she owns into the trunk of her car and heads for refuge with her friend in Hope’s Crossing, Pennsylvania.

Alex Rojas returned from his second deployment as a Navy SEAL to find his condo empty and divorce papers on the breakfast table. Now he’s building a life for himself and his daughter at Hope’s Crossing kennels training younger dogs and handlers to search and rescue, struggling to adjust to life back in the States and as a single father.

When Elisa shows up at the kennels, it’s obvious she’s running from something. Luckily, the dogs and trainers at Hope’s Crossing are more than capable of warding off trouble. And with every minute he spends with Elisa, Alex becomes even more and more determined to protect the woman he’s certain he won’t be able to live without…

Get More information at: Goodreads  | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

About the Author
Piper_TH.jpg

Piper J. Drake (or “PJ”) began her writing career as “PJ Schnyder” writing sci-fi & paranormal romance and steampunk. She has recently received the FF&P PRISM award for her work as well as the NJRW Golden Leaf award and Parsec award.

Now, PJ is exploring the complexity of romantic suspense, incorporating her interests in mixed martial arts and the military into her writing.

Connect with Piper at: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Google + | GoodReads| Youtube

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s