Release Blitz: The Devil’s Daughter by Katee Robert (Review + Excerpt + Teasers + Giveaway)

FBI agent, Eden Collins is going home… to catch a killer.  Fans of Audey Harte’s It Takes One and Kendra Elliott’s Bone Secrets series, will devour The Devil’s Daughter, the fast-paced and suspenseful first book, in the Hidden Sins series by NYT and USA Today Bestselling Author Katee Robert.

 robert_the-devils-daughter_badge-copy-copy

 The Devil’s Daughter

Katee Robert

 Hidden Sins #1

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: January 24, 2017

Publisher: Montlake Romance

Print Length:  316 pages

Format: Digital and Paperback

ISBN: 1503940918

robert_thedevilsdaughter_23176-cv-ft

About THE DEVIL’S DAUGHTER

Growing up in a small town isn’t easy, especially when you’re the daughter of a local cult leader. Ten years ago, Eden Collins left Clear Springs, Montana, and never once looked back. But when the bodies of murdered young women surface, their corpses violated and marked with tattoos worn by her mother’s followers, Eden, now an FBI agent, can’t turn a blind eye. To catch the killer, she’s going to have to return to the fold.

Sheriff Zach Owens isn’t comfortable putting Eden in danger, even if she is an elite agent. And he certainly wasn’t expecting to be so attracted to her. As calm and cool as she appears, he knows this can’t be a happy homecoming. Zach wants to protect her—from her mother, the cult, and the evil that lurks behind its locked gates. But Eden is his only key to the tight-lipped group, and she may just be closer to the killer than either one of them suspects…

Get More information at:

Goodreads Amazon | Barnes & Noble

kr_tdd


My Thoughts

*ARC provided by Publisher*

To my mind, it is the mark of a highly skilled author who can take the barest bones of an idea, combine it with a few deeply layered characters, and turn it into a fascinating and haunting story that brings goosebumps to one’s arms and makes one want to sleep with the light on at night. Author Katee Robert accomplishes this and more with The Devil’s Daughter, out January 24th 2017, from Montlake Romance.

In The Devil’s Daughter, Roberts brings FBI Agent Eden Collins home to Clear Springs, Montana, to aid the local Sheriff in the search for a newly discovered killer. Eden’s homecoming is anything but easy as she fights the demons from her past in an effort to help Sheriff Zach Owens discover what, if anything, her mother and her followers had to do with the the murder of a troubled but promising young girl.

Terrifying in its plausibility, The Devil’s Daughter takes readers into the dark depths of a close-knit cult, with some seriously nightmare-inducing beliefs and rituals that made this story both difficult to read and even more difficult to put down. An excellent, tightly-woven suspense plot with some truly phenomenal lead characterizations will keep readers on the edge of their seat–with at least one eye looking over their shoulder.

Brilliant, intense, and addictive, The Devil’s Daughter is a must-read for romantic suspense and mystery-thriller fans. I had chills reading this book, and they haven’t subsided since I finished it. A truly fantastic and most excellent read.

Highly, highly recommend reading this one!

5 “KEEPER SHELF” Stars

Okie Dreams Top Pick


takeadvantage_tdd


Excerpt from THE DEVIL’S DAUGHTER

“This is stupid. Get out of the car. Get out of the car right now.”

She threw her body into motion, half-afraid that if she didn’t force herself to move, she’d sit there until someone decided to report her for being creepy. Who am I kidding? The people in this place are just as likely to knock on the window and ask me if I need any help.

The fall air had a little bite to it, and she closed her eyes and inhaled deeply. Home.

No. It’s not home. It’ll never be home again.

She’d made a life for herself in the FBI, and if she didn’t have much in the way of roots . . . Well, she’d left the possibility of roots behind when she left Clear Springs. Most days it didn’t even bother her that much. She was doing good in the world, using her nontraditional childhood to give her an edge that had helped her make a name for herself over the last six years in the cult division. She was Eden Collins, FBI agent. She wasn’t that scared little girl. Not anymore.

One step at a time, she made her way into the police station. She’d half expected it to be a whirl of motion, with people rushing here and there, trying to come to terms with the fact that death had touched their small town. But there was no one in the room except a man sitting behind the desk in the corner, glaring at the phone on his desk.

Zach Owens.

The golden boy of Clear Springs in every sense. His blond hair was still cropped short, hearkening back to his days as a marine, and his body was obviously well taken care of. This wasn’t a man who’d let his years working in a sleepy little town turn him soft.

While Zach took her in, she conducted her own perusal. She’d never met him personally, but she knew him by reputation and pieces of information stolen via eavesdropping. He’d gone off to war a boy and come back a man with shadows in his eyes. Or maybe she was just seeing him with rose-tinted glasses, the tragic figure representing everything she’d never have. Acceptance. Loyalty. The love of the people here.

Something like jealousy curled through her stomach. It was silly and childish and she was better than that, but it was hard not to resent someone who so obviously fit. Eden had done a bit of traveling since she’d turned eighteen and run as far and fast as she could from her mother, but she’d never found a place that was well and truly hers.

He caught sight of her and narrowed his eyes. “Can I help you?”

Being pinned in place by those blue eyes made her second-guess the intelligence of her plan yet again. It didn’t matter. He needed her help, even if he didn’t know it yet. She stepped forward. “I’m here about the body.”


ENTER THE GIVEAWAY

For a Cozy Up and Read gift basket that includes Tea, mug, a couple of Katee’s favorite romantic suspense novels, and a cozy throw blanket.

Enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway here!


About KATEE ROBERT

Katee Robert.04.205px.png

New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Katee Robert learned to tell her stories at her grandpa’s knee. She found romance novels at age twelve and it changed her life. When not writing sexy contemporary and speculative fiction romance novels, she spends her time playing imaginary games with her wee ones, driving her husband batty with what-if questions, and planning for the inevitable zombie apocalypse.

Connect with Katee at: 

Website | Facebook | Twitter| GoodReads | Instagram 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s