Release Blitz: The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan (Review + Excerpt + Giveaway)

THE BOOKSHOP ON THE CORNER

Jenny Colgan

William Morrow Paperbacks

Released on: September 20, 2016

ISBN: 9780062467256; $14.99

E-ISBN 9780062467263; $9.99

bookshoponthecornerpb

About the Book

Nina Redmond is a literary matchmaker. Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion… and also her job. Or at least it was. Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city. But now the job she loved is no more.

Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys a van and transforms it into a bookmobile—a mobile bookshop that she drives from neighborhood to neighborhood, changing one life after another with the power of storytelling.

From helping her grumpy landlord deliver a lamb, to sharing picnics with a charming train conductor who serenades her with poetry, Nina discovers there’s plenty of adventure, magic, and soul in a place that’s beginning to feel like home… a place where she just might be able to write her own happy ending.

Add to Goodreads

Buy Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Continue reading “Release Blitz: The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan (Review + Excerpt + Giveaway)”

Advertisements

Two Across by Jeff Bartsch (Review)

Two Across

Jeff Bartsch

304 Pages

July 19th 2016

Grand Central Publishing

Two Across Cover

Book Summary

Highly awkward teenager Stanley Owens meets his match in beautiful, brainy Vera Baxter when they tie for first place in the annual National Spelling Bee-and the two form a bond that will change both of their lives.

Though their mothers have big plans for them-Stanley will become a senator, Vera a mathematics professor-neither wants to follow these pre-determined paths. So Stanley hatches a scheme to marry Vera in a sham wedding for the cash gifts, hoping they will enable him to pursue his one true love: crossword puzzle construction. In enlisting Vera to marry him, though, he neglects one variable: she’s secretly in love with him, which makes their counterfeit ceremony an exercise in misery for her.

Realizing the truth only after she’s moved away and cut him out of her life, Stanley tries to atone for his mistakes and win her back. But he’s unable to find her, until one day he comes across a puzzle whose clues make him think it could only have been created by Vera. Intrigued, he plays along, communicating back to her via his own gridded clues. But will they connect again before it’s all too late?

Add to Goodreads

Buy Links

Amazon | B & N | Kobo

Continue reading “Two Across by Jeff Bartsch (Review)”

Review: Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

For fans of Jojo Moyes and Elin Hilderbrand, an irresistible novel—moving and funny, soulful and sweet—about happiness, heartache, and hope. And recipes.

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery

Little Beach Street Bakery #2

Author: Jenny Colgan
Publisher: HarperCollins
Imprint: William Morrow Paperbacks
Genre: Chick Lit | Literary Fiction | Romance
Pages: 416
Source: Publicist
Format: Trade Paperback
Released: March 22nd 2016

25817277.jpg

Book Summary

A thriving bakery. A lighthouse to call home. A handsome beekeeper. A pet puffin. These are the things that Polly Waterford can call her own. This is the beautiful life she leads on a tiny island off the southern coast of England.

But clouds are gathering on the horizon. A stranger threatens to ruin Polly’s business. Her beloved boyfriend seems to be leading a secret life. And the arrival of a newcomer—a bereft widow desperately searching for a fresh start—forces Polly to reconsider the choices she’s made, even as she tries to help her new friend through grief.

Unpredictable and unforgettable, this delightful novel will make you laugh, cry, and long for a lighthouse of your own. Recipes included.

Add to Goodreads | Goodreads Series Link

Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | Kobo

Continue reading “Review: Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan”

Blog Tour: Luxe by Ashley Antoinette (Review & Rating)

From the New York Times bestseller Ashley Antoinette, author of the Prada Plan series comes a boldly fierce and strikingly dramatic novel, Luxe.


Luxe

Part One

Ashley Antoinette

352 Pages

Release Date: 09/08/2015



Publisher:
St. Martin’s Press | Imprint: Griffin

Genre: Woman’s Fiction | Literary Fiction | Romance


23848213Bleu Montclair knew as a young girl that she would one day escape the hard, unrelenting streets of Flint, Michigan, and when her desperate prayers are answered in the form of a scholarship to UCLA, Bleu knows she’s struck gold. But soon after arriving, all her beautiful, bright dreams begin to fall apart. Endless temptations abound in the form of cars, clothes, booze, drugs, and Bleu cannot keep up. When her roommate gives her the opportunity to make a lot of money fast, Bleu goes all in-and heads straight down a path of violence and addiction that only her newest protector, Iman, can save her from. 


*Keep reading for a review & rating of Luxe, plus information about new-to-me author, Ashley Antoinette *

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Luxe by Ashley Antoinette (Review & Rating)”

Review: Among The Ten Thousand Things by Julia Pierpont

Among The Ten Thousand Things

Julia Pierpont

336 Pages

Release Date: 07/07/2015


PUBLISHER: RANDOM HOUSEGENRE: LITERARY FICTION


For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.
 
23503361Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn’t mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack’s secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it’s delivered into the wrong hands: her children’s.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can’t possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life—their brittleness, and their resilience.

Continue reading “Review: Among The Ten Thousand Things by Julia Pierpont”

Review: Blueprints by Barbara Delinsky


Blueprints


Author: Barbara Delinsky
Publisher: St Martin’s Press
Page Count: 416 pages
Format: E-Arc
Source: Publisher/NetGalley
Genre: Woman’s Fiction, Literary Fiction, Romance
Release Date: 6/2/2015


bookblurb



51ByicLRRoLSome women are born with an instinct for knowing how things work-and what to do when they break.

Caroline MacAfee is a skilled carpenter, her daughter Jamie, a talented architect. Together they are the faces of Gut It!, a home renovation series on local public television. Caroline takes pride in her work, and in the way she connects with the show’s audience. But when she is told the network wants her daughter to replace her as host-the day after Caroline’s fifty-sixth birthday-she is devastated. The fallout couldn’t come at a worse time.

For Jamie, life changes overnight when, soon after learning of the host shift, her father and his new wife die in a car accident that orphans their two-year-old son. Accustomed to organization and planning, she is now grappling with a toddler who misses his parents, a fiancé who doesn’t want the child, a staggering new attraction, and a work challenge that, if botched, could undermine the future of both MacAfee Homes and Gut It!

For Caroline, hosting Gut It! is part of her identity. Facing its loss, she feels betrayed by her daughter and old in the eyes of the world. Her ex-husband’s death thrusts her into the role of caregiver to his aging father. And then there’s Dean, a long-time friend, whose efforts to seduce her awaken desires that have been dormant for so long that she feels foreign to herself.

Who am I? Both women ask, as the blueprints they’ve built their lives around suddenly need revising. While loyalties shift, decisions hover, and new relationships tempt, their challenge comes not only in remaking themselves, but in rebuilding their relationship with each other.

Continue reading “Review: Blueprints by Barbara Delinsky”